Time is certainly flying by now that I am back to work. Here's a quick recap of what I've been up to...

Back to work, back to the daily grind. It's F.A.F.S.A. time in the school! It's also the time of year when everyone says "FASFA" which is a HUGE pet peeve of mine...LOL I'm not 100% back to health yet but I am MUCH better than I was at the end of last year. Those two weeks of winter break were really restorative for me. I am excited about the new semester and working with the students. OAN, I just received an email from a student I worked with last year. I am so happy to hear that she is doing well, and it feels great to know I helped her along the way. Shine bright hon, shine bright! :)

Other than working, I have been laying low and catching up on rest and all my favorite television shows, which feels amazing. Who knew I would like not having a jam-packed schedule?! It feels GOOD to take care of myself, as it should. A good friend (also known as the pastor I'm receiving grief counseling from) had some wise words for me on Monday after I mentioned feeling guilty about my empty schedule. She reminded me that I do have a "ministry," which consists of taking care of myself and my mother right now during our time of grief. She admonished me to not make any huge, life-changing decisions during the first year of grieving. Before committing to any decisions, I am to ask myself if is energy draining or energy giving. So far, I have worked on vision boarding, improving my health, monitoring my finances, and attending church (all of which were energy giving). Sticking to my goal of having less commitments. Go, me!

I am making a concerted effot to get in bed earlier, so that I can sleep earlier. Tonight I bought a humidifier to help with my sinus problems before I meet with the allergist next week. I'll do an update at the end of the month as to how I'm progressing towards myother goals for the year.

Finally...drumroll please....I am super excited to announce that I am now an approved book reviewer for Tyndale Blog Network! I will receive free Christian books to read and review on my blog. I learned about this fantastic opportunity from the blog
www.monesavingmom.com.. The reviews will be posted where the book is advertised. And to put my urge to over commit at bay, I can only review one book at a time. How serendipitous. I can't wait to start reading and reviewing books! Stay tuned :)

So that's what I've been up to since returning to DC. On that note, Night ya'll!



Leave a Reply.